RE5 Secures Resident Evil as Capcom’s Flagship Franchise

Source: TechPowerUp.com

Source: TechPowerUp.com

Apparently, despite how many times gamers have openly bashed Resident Evil 5 for it’s many flaws, the title is Capcom’s largest success to date dealing with the franchise, and the rest of Capcom’s impressive library.

It was announced that Resident Evil 5 has officially surpassed the record sales numbers of 1992’s allusive Street Fighter II, since the title dropped way back in 2009. RE5 has reportedly sold over 6.3 million units as late September 2013. The list also showed the better critically received RE6 has sold 5.3 million copies, and RE2 which holds tight at fourth place with nearly 5 million to date.

All together, every Resident Evil title has sold more than 60 million units, followed by Monster Hunter at 27 million combined. This should unsurprisingly nail-down the Resident Evil franchise as the champion brand for Capcom, having  helped define the company’s success since it’s debut in the 90’s.

Source: IGN

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Video Game News

Author:Paige Six

Blogger at coiledrose.wordpress.com. The Product Manager & Chief Operating Officer over at Another Castle. A Writer & Editor for Ladies of the Roundtable. Contributor to Aggressive Comix, Attack of the Fanboy, and so many more!

Stay Connected

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

8 Comments on “RE5 Secures Resident Evil as Capcom’s Flagship Franchise”

  1. 10/31/2013 at 7:46 AM #

    Reblogged this on Coiled 薔薇 Rose.

  2. 10/31/2013 at 11:11 AM #

    Resident Evil 5 was actually my favorite one in the series. If I had to choose my three favorites it would be
    Resident Evil 5
    Resident Evil Zero
    Resident Evil Code Veronica

  3. Jen
    10/31/2013 at 12:50 PM #

    Zero was very much under-appreciated. I actually didn’t care too much for 5, but it was pretty all right in the scheme of things. All-in-all though, 3 is beyond all my favorite in the series; and I am disappointed everyone keeps forgetting 2 — which was oddly enough over-praised back in the day.

  4. 10/31/2013 at 7:43 PM #

    RE4, RE5, RE6, Revelations, Archives?

    I’ve played other RE titles, but only smidgens. At one time, I thought my love for RE4 was just fangirling and nostalgia for the second RE title I beat. Then I played it again. Nope.. Much love still.

  5. 11/01/2013 at 9:19 AM #

    I have only played RE 4 and 5. I played 4 when it was first on the Gamecube (Oh, the Gamecube) and fondly remember late nights with my cousins. I played RE5 in 2011 and thought it was abysmal. Controls were poor… very poor, story was bland (though I give some grace for not having played the other games), and the end was weak. I mean, I don’t want to punch a rock in a volcano, that’s just stupid.
    It looked nice and Wesker was cool.

  6. 11/01/2013 at 9:21 AM #

    So, the RE Chronicles HD Bundle was free on PS Plus but I havent played them yet. Feeling the way I do about RE5 and not givin’ a hoot about RE 6, should I even bother with the Chronicles titles?

  7. Jen
    11/01/2013 at 11:16 AM #

    I did the same thing with Chronicles. I’ll be getting around to it soon, I suppose. Unfortunately, the original titles haven’t aged very well but nostalgia pulls me through.

    As for 4, I remember being so enraged that they weren’t zombies anymore. Still am for the most part. I understood where the story was heading, but I was just so frustrated that it veered so far from the traditional.

    I appreciated that 6 went back to zombies, and pretty awesome ones at that. I ended up skipping 6, though, because of the debacle with 5. But someday, someday.

  8. 11/01/2013 at 4:05 PM #

    Re5 has to be played with a friend or its just a lame copycat of re4 which is my favorite. But if you pay 5 co op it’s a ton of fun. My favorite co op game to date. Re2 and 3 both get honorable mentions. Starrrrrrsssss!!!!

Leave a Reply

